Crash Ensemble presents FREE STATE VI

April 1st, 2011 | 8pm | IMMA, Kilmainham, Dublin 8 |

Crash Ensemble continues its commitment to showcasing the work of Ireland’s brightest composers in Free State VI, paying homage to new talent in this annual concert. For one night only, the Irish Museum of Modern Art will play host to a full spectrum of Irish contemporary talent, ranging from Judith Ring’s ‘Up to My F-holes’ for solo cello and tape to Andrew Hamilton’s ‘Music for People Who Like Art’ for full ensemble and soprano. This concert will also feature the world premiere of a new piece by Dan Trueman, specially commissioned for Free State VI by Crash Ensemble.

As part of the evening, the Contemporary Music Centre will be hosting a pre-show discussion panel mediated by CMC Director, Evonne Ferguson The panel will be made up of Free State VI’s composers at 6:30pm on April 1st at IMMA and promises to offer an interesting insight into the work of these talented Irish composers.

FREE STATE VI is Co-curated by Dan Trueman, Fullbright scholar visiting from Princeton, the programme includes a selection of the most vibrant new music Ireland has to offer.  Discover ‘Piano Tremors’ for four-hands by Anna Murray, Amanda Feery’s ‘Rattle’ for bass clarinet and ‘Star’ for baroque violin and double bass by Benedict Schlepper-Connolly. Senses will be sent soaring by ‘Eff’ for string quartet and percussion by Francis Heery and ‘Basso Continuo’ for full ensemble by Birmingham based Seán Clancy.


Claire Hefferon (01) 8586645 |

Claire Layton (01) 8586645 |

For full programme visit:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: