Donal Sarsfield is awarded first prize in Luigi Russolo 2011

Donal SARSFIELD’s piece Gallivanting has been awarded 1st prize Luigi Russolo 2011 (Ex-aequo with Georges FORGET) in the International composition contest Luigi Russolo – Rossana Maggia. The competition is organised by Studio Forum for young composers under 35 to encourage the creation of experimental and electro-acoustic music.

The international jury for the 2011 Russolo-Maggia International composition contest included Philippe Blanchard, Guillaume Caillot, Paul Clouvel, Pierre Coppier, Bernard Donzel-Gargand, Peter Naylor, Victor Nubla, Pierre Jolivet, Sebastia Jovani, Pierre Launay, Lucy Tcherno and Dmitry Vasilyev.

Gallivanting was written for Radio Active, a project within the Dublin Fringe Festival in collaboration with RTÉ Choice (digital radio), where ten artists were offered the opportunity to make innovative and creative radio during the Festival.

To hear this award winning work visit:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: