Exciting programming in New Sound Worlds 2011/2012

The innovative and imaginative contemporary music series, NewSoundWorlds, funded by the Arts Council/An Comhairle Ealaion and curated by the composer Siobhán Cleary, (left) returns to the National Concert Hall on the 21 September 2011 with eight concerts for the 2011/2012 season. The series continues to bring together national and international performers and composers for world-class performances. All performances take place in the Kevin Barry Room.

The 2011/2012 season of NewSoundWorlds opens with the pianist and composer Rolf Hind performing a programme featuring works by John Cage along with a selection of Eastern composers. This awe-inspiring programme will be performed on two pianos. The concert will be followed by the launch of the concert series.

The series continues in October with the screening of a film of Gerald Barry’s second opera, Triumph of Beauty and Deceit.  In November, the last concert of 2011 will feature Wavetrain and their exciting repertoire which highlights the electro-acoustic instrument, the ondes Martenot.

NewSoundWorlds will return in the New Year with a further five concerts from January to May 2012 featuring performances by Thérèse Fahy, the Argento Ensemble, the Vanbrugh Quartet, Hugo Ticciati and the Amstel Quartet.

For further information on the NewSoundWorlds series contact:

PR and Marketing Officer: Jennifer O’Connor

+353 85 1723327 / media.nsw@gmail.com



Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: