New Sound Worlds : November 2011

New Sound Worlds continues with another innovative programme of music at The Kevin Barry Room at The National Concert Hall on 16 November 2011, 8.30pm.

The final NewSoundWorlds concert of 2011 illustrates the capabilities and sound worlds of the ondes Martenot. The concert will feature Wavetrain, which is comprised of Nathalie Forget on the ondes Martenot and Matthew Schellhorn on piano. One of the earliest electronic instruments, the ondes Martenot, which is a cross between an organ and a theremin, has inspired musicians and composers from Boulez to Radiohead. The programme provides an eclectic mix of East meets West and includes what is regard as one of the greatest pieces composed for the ondes Martenot – Messiaen’s Oraison.

Tickets are available from The National Concert Hall

Tel: 01 4170000 or email


Wavetrain also perform on the 19th November at 9pm at The Model, Sligo. This concert features a new work by Siobhan Cleary based on the W.B. yeats Poem “Cap and Bells”.

For further details visit:

For more information on Wavetrain see


NewSoundWorlds will return in January 2012:

21 January 2012: Thérèse Fahy (piano)

15 February 2012: Argento Ensemble

21 March 2012: Hugo Ticciati (Violin)

18 April 2012: Vanbrugh Quartet

16 May 2012: Amstel Quartet

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: