Concorde will present new works by Irish composers at the Rubicon Gallery on 27 November 2011

Rhona Clarke

Rhona Clarke

The concerts, which are part of the ensemble’s Up Close with Music series, take place on the afternoon of Sunday, 27 November in the Rubicon Gallery, Stephens Green. Each event features a special commission, new music from Irish composers, a work by American Elliott Carter on the eve of his 103rd birthday, and a retrospective collection of works previously performed and commissioned by Concorde.

Rhona Clarke’s new work for violin, cello and tape, con coro, was specially written for the Concorde and includes choral sounds mixed with live performance. The group will also present new compositions by Amanda Feery, Stephen Gardner and Bill Campbell, as well as music by Ed Bennett and Deirdre McKay.

The works will be presented in three separate programmes by Concorde musicians Paul Roe, Elaine Clark, Martin Johnson and Dermot Dunne at 2 pm, 3 pm and 4 pm on 27 November 2011. Admission is free but advance booking recommended to

The Series is supported by a Music Project Award from the Arts Council and continues in February, March and July 2012.

Programme: * = premiere performance
2 pm
Ed Bennett: Breath
*Amanda Feery: Rattle
Mike McFerron: Hamburger Pattie Machine
Rhona Clarke: Con Coro

3 pm
Elliott Carter: Gra
*Bill Campbell: Did you see that?
*Stephen Gardner: Breathe
Stephen Gardner: Klezmeria
3 pm
*Rhona Clarke: Con Coro
Deirdre McKay: between
Ariel Hernandez: Acollaradas

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: