The first Irish Composers Collective concert of 2012 takes place on 19 January

The concert features a programme of new works performed by Sue Rynhart and Abigail Smith and will take place in the Kevin Barry Room, National Concert Hall, Dublin, at 8:30pm.

The works premiered include a jazz-inspired waltz by Dennis Wyers, a moving musical plea for “Organ Donation” by Dylan Rynhart, settings of Emily Dickinson and Yeats, and a piece by Donal Mac Erlaine, described as an “aural hallucination”.

Sue Rynhart is a soprano whose interests range from early to contemporary music. She holds both a BA and MA in Music from NUI Maynooth, and has performed with improvising vocal trio Voices, Jazz Orchestra Fuzzy Logic Ensemble and Chris Goodwin & The Dublin Madrigal Consort.

Abigail Smith is a multi-instrumentalist and song-writer. As well as releasing her own album Night Time Walking, she has appeared on those of David Kitt, 3epkano, Somadrone and Goodtime John, and performed at the 2008 Electric Picnic. She was recently commissioned to write music for the animated film Trolley Boy as well as a piece for the Diversus Guitar Ensemble.

David Bremner – We Hesitate
Patrick Connolly – There’s a certain slant of light
Donal Mac Erlaine – Illo-Cuper-Locu
Hugh Boyle – The Moods
Dennis Wyers – Shades of Meaning
Dylan Rynhart – Organ Donation

Tickets €10 / €5 are available from the National Concert Hall Box Office (tel 01 4170000) or online at

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: