The February NewSoundWorlds Concert features the Argento Chamber Ensemble

Argento Chamber Ensemble

The concert takes place at 8.30pm on 15 February 2012 at the Kevin Barry Room at the National Concert Hall and features the premiere of a work, Psychopomp by NewSoundWorlds curator Siobhán Cleary. The concert also includes a new work by the Argento Ensemble conductor, Michel Galante, as well as works by German composer Enno Popp and French composer Philippe Hurel.

The New York-based Argento Chamber Ensemble consists of nine dedicated members and regularly expands to perform and record chamber orchestra works for up to 30 musicians. The group has toured widely and worked closely with leading composers such as Pierre Boulez, Tania Leon, Tristan Murail, Elliott Carter, Philippe Hurel, Gerard Pesson, Joshua Fineberg, and Philippe Leroux. The concert in the NewSoundWorlds series forms part of an Irish tour for the group, with performances taking place in Limerick, Belfast and Kilkenny on the 14, 16 and 17 February 2012.

NewSoundWorlds is a concert series presented by Ireland Promoting New Music (IPNM), an organisation set up in 2005 to improve opportunities for the performance and dissemination of contemporary music and to introduce Irish audiences to exciting new works from home and abroad. The NewSoundWorlds concert series is funded by grants from the Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaoin and is supported by the National Concert Hall.

Tickets for the concert cost €15 (€8 unwaged/student) and are available from the National Concert Hall, tel: 01 4170000 or email

Further information
Aisling Ryan, PR and Marketing Officer, Tel: 01 4434510,

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: