Degani Ensemble to perform Elaine Agnew’s Shall We Dance…?

Elaine Agnew

The Degani Ensemble is a strings and oboe quartet established nearly thirty years ago by four young musicians who have since risen to become some of the country’s best known musicians, with founding members Alan Smale, John Lynch and Ruby Ashley also principal players in the RTÉ Concert Orchestra and National Symphony Orchestra.

The ensemble will feature composer Elaine Agnew’s oboe quartet Shall We Dance…? at their upcoming concert on April 26th, the first of a series of chamber music concerts by Degani at St. Ann’s Church in Dublin. In 2008, Agnew was appointed the very first RTÉ Lyric fm Composer-in-Residence in association with the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. Shall We Dance…? is a continuous suite of short dances, written in 1991 for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. Alongside Agnew’s work in the concert’s programme will be Schubert’s Octet in F Major D.803 and Spohr’s Grand Nonetto in F major Op.31.

Tickets for the concert in St. Ann’s Church cost €22.50 and are available to buy here.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: