Bill Whelan’s music features in a concert by the RTÉ Concert Orchestra and the Crash Ensemble on 17 May

Bill Whelan  (photo Richard Noble)

The concert takes place in the National Concert Hall at 8pm and features an entire programme of Bill Whelan’s music with guest artists including singer Eleanor McEvoy and fiddle player Zoë Conway.

The RTÉ Concert Orchestra with conductor David Brophy will perform a selection of Whelan’s works for orchestra, including the world premiere of the composer’s Symphonic Suite from Riverdance.

The Grammy Award-winning composer’s work Jazzical Cyclebike will be performed by the Crash Ensemble. The work, which was originally written in 2007 for chamber strings with violin and cello duets, was composed in Paris and inspired by many cycling trips around the city. The work was adapted for the Crash Ensemble in a version for piano and string quartet in 2011.

The Music of Bill Whelan
The National Concert Hall, Main Auditorium
Thursday 17th May, 8pm

RTÉ Concert Orchestra
Bill Whelan, piano
Crash Ensemble
UCD Choral Scholars
David Brophy, conductor

Guest Artists:
Eleanor McEvoy, vocals
Zoë Conway, fiddle
Máirtín O’Connor, accordian
Maitiú Ó Casaide uilleann pipes
Mick Donegan & Yolanda Gonzalez Sobrado, dancers

Further information:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: