New Sound Worlds with Amstel Quartet and Maria McGarry

Amstel Quartet

This month’s New Sound Worlds concert combines Irish and Dutch music in both its programme and performers: the Amsterdam-based Amstel Quartet and Irish pianist Maria McGarry. Taking place on 16 May 2012 at 8:30pm in the Kevin Barry Room of the National Concert Hall, the combination of saxophone quartet and piano makes for an exciting end to the monthly new music series.

The concert’s programme is split in two, opening with three Irish works, and ending with three Dutch pieces. Opening the Irish portion of the evening is Jane O’Leary’s riverrun, a 2008 piece written for and premiered by the Amstel saxophone quartet in the Netherlands. This is followed by New Sound Worlds curator Siobhán Cleary’s Conachlann, also written in 2008 for the Amstel Quartet and Maria McGarry for the Sligo New Music Festival. Finally for the Irish side is Ian Wilson’s her charms invited, originally written as a string quartet but arranged for saxophone. The Dutch half of the programme includes two world premieres, the first by Fant de Kanter called FEINT, and the second by Albert can Veenendaal, Minor Incidents. Alongside the two premieres is a 2010 piece written for the Amstel Quartet by Otto Ketting, Close Harmony.

Tickets for New Sound Worlds at the National Concert Hall cost €15/€8 concession and are available from the NCH Box Office –

See also:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: