Music by Rhona Clarke and Jane O’Leary performed in Chicago


On 20 May 2012, the Chicago new music organisation Access Contemporary Music (ACM) presents a concert by their ensemble Palomar.

The concert, which takes place at the Green Mill in Chicago, includes two works by Rhona Clarke and Jane O’Leary programmed as a result of a repertoire exchange between ACM and Concorde.

Rhona Clarke’s con coro for violin, cello and tape was specially written for Concorde and was premiered by the ensemble in November 2011. No. 19 for solo violin by Concorde’s director Jane O’Leary was written as a tribute to the building in which it was premiered – No. 19 Fishamble Street, the premises of the Contemporary Music Centre. The work was premiered in CMC earlier this year.

ACM is a non-profit organization whose mission is to promote the music of living composers through performance, education and advocacy. Initiatives include a concert series, a Sound of Silent Film Festival, and other outreach performances in public schools and community centres. The group seeks to present contemporary music as a living and important part of the overall Classical music tradition.

The concert will be attended by Rhona Clarke.

Sunday, May 20 2:00 PM
Green Mill
4803 N. Broadway Ave.
$5 at the door only

Elegy for the Casualties of War by Malcolm Dedman
Van Gogh Vignettes by Greg Steinke
No. 19 by Jane O’Leary
Con Coro by Rhona Clarke
Waiting Room by John Elmquist
First Installment of Liminal Bends by Ben Vida

Further information:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: