The Irish Composers’ Collective presents vox merus

The next concert presented by the Irish Composers’ Collective will take place at the Kevin Barry Room of the National Concert Hall on the 31 May. The programme will feature eight new pieces for brass quintet by member composers and will be performed by the vox merus brass quintet.

The vox merus brass quintet was formed in 2010 and features both freelance and orchestral players: Colm Byrne, Dave Collins, Cormac O hAodain, Steve Mathieson and Alex Kiston. Following their debut tour, the quintet are focussed on creating new repertoire for the force through working closely with Irish composers. The eight composers with works being performed on 31 May are Matthew Whiteside, Naomi Campbell, Anna Murray, Peter Moran, Daniel Barkley, Natasa Paterson, David Bremner and Conal Ryan. The programme is titled Impure Voices, reflecting the mix of styles and inspirations that have gone into the pieces on show.

In the run-up to the concert, vox merus will be hosting a video blog featuring interviews with the composers about their pieces; afterwards, this will developed into a full exploration of the project from conception to realisation, with rehearsal videos and audience feedback.

Matthew Whiteside – Will We See Light?
Anna Murray – Nebule
Natasa Paterson – DOMU
Peter Moran – Neva Choble No
David Bremner – Driving Through Waste Territory: (Winter)
Daniel Barkley – Five on a Treasure Island
Conal Ryan – Bounding
Naomi Campbell – Sanctus Choral

Further information:

Tickets for Impure Voices cost €10/€5 and are available from the National Concert Hall Box Office at or 01 417 0000.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: