The Irish Composers’ Collective presents Alex Petcu, solo percussion

Alex pectu

The Irish Composers’ Collective June concert features Alex Petcu, performing a selection of new works for solo percussion by member composers. Petcu is a Romanian/Irish performer currently based in Cork, and is also a member of the CAN Percussion Trio, currently touring the country. He has performed as soloist at the Cork Chamber Music Festival, the Crawford Summer Lunchtime Concert Series and in Gryon Switzerland. He reached the top six finalists at the Tromp International percussion Competition in 2010. As an ensemble player he has performed with the RTÉ Concert Orchestra and has worked with Pierre Boulez and the Ensemble Intercontemporain.

The programme features new works written especially by Irish Composers’ Collective members Ben McHugh, Marc Balbirnie, Conal Ryan, David O’Regan, Emma O’Halloran, Francis Heery and Dylan Rynhart. The concert takes place at the National Concert Hall’s Kevin Barry Room on Friday, 22 June, and costs €10 (€5 with student card).

For more information on the concert and the works to be performed, visit the ICC blog.

Ben McHugh – VIX
Marc Balbirnie – Contour
Conal Ryan – Network of Stoppages
David O’Regan – Smack Gasket
Emma O’Halloran – 99% Invisible
Francis Heery – Common Time
Dylan Rynhart – Balloon

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: