Crash Ensemble at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival

Crash ensemble

As part of their role as Ensemble-in-Residence at the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival this November, Crash Ensemble will perform three concerts, two of which feature the music of Irish composers.

The opening night’s event (16 November) is a portrait of Crash director and composer Donnacha Dennehy, including a performance of last year’s internationally influential Grá Agus Bás featuring singer Iarla Ó Lionáird, as well as As An Nós, Disposable Dissonance and Glamour Sleeper.

The second concert (18 November) of the residency is called American Originals, and will include a newly commissioned piece from Glenn Branca, part-funded through the group’s successful fund:it campaign. The programme also includes two recent Crash commissions from Nico Muhly (Drones, Variations, Ornaments) and Arnold Dreyblatt (Resonant Relations).

The third concert of the festival residency (19 November) is called Irish Voices and will feature both international recognised Irish composers and those of the younger generation. From the former group will by Gerald Barry’s 2007 piece First Sorrow, and Kevin Volan’s Looping Point (another piece written for the ensemble this year), while from the latter will be Ed Bennet’s Stop-Motion Music, Andrew Hamilton’s Music for People who Like Art, premiered at last year’s Free State VI concert, and Linda Buckley’s Do you remember the planets?.

Further information:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: