Irish music features in three concerts in Moscow during October

John Gibson

A festival featuring chamber works by Irish composers takes place in Moscow from 10–13 October 2012. The festival, ‘From John Field to the 21st Century’, will feature Irish composers from the past and present performed by distinguished Russian and Irish musicians over three concerts.

The Vanbrugh Quartet and composer and pianist John Gibson will perform works by Aloys Fleischmannm, Hamilton Harty, Dave Flynn, and John Gibson in a concert on 10 October at the Armoury Chamber of the Kremlin. They will be joined by harpist Nika Ryabchinenko and pianist Olga Solovieva.

Frederick May’s seminal String Quartet in C Minor forms the centrepiece of the concert on 12 October at the Moscow Conservatory Central Musical School. The concert also includes John Gibson’s Irish Airs for harp and clarinet.

The final concert on 13 October will feature Aloys Fleischmann’s Piano Quintet, performed by the Vanbrugh Quartet and Olga Solovieva alongside Charles Villiers Stanford’s Sonata Celtica No. 4 for organ, performed by Mara Lesovichenko.

Further information: CMC Calendar

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: