An evening of experimental piano music takes place at the Back Loft, Dublin on 29 November

Tickling the Ivories poster

‘Tickling the Ivories’ is a concert presented by the Back Loft /La Cat Acoustic in collaboration with curator composer Peter Moran, with special guests Kian Geiselbrechtinger on piano and vocalist Olesya Zdorovetska.

This concert spans one hundred years of musical innovators, including acoustic, electro-acoustic and audio-visual works from Arnold Schoenberg, Henry Cowell, John Cage, György Ligeti, John Zorn and Irish composer Jennifer Walshe. The latter part of the programme will feature a selection of Peter Moran’s recent piano music, including the first full performance of The Dublin Miniatures – a collection of piano miniatures composed in different parts of Dublin city earlier this year, and performed with video projections of the locations where they were written.

The concert takes place at the Back Loft, 7/11 St. Augustine Street, Dublin 8, on Thursday, 29 November 2012 at 7.30pm. Tickets cost €8 (€5 concession).

Piano Sonata No.9, Op.68 (1910) – Alexander Scriabin
Excerpts from Six Little Piano Pieces, Op.19 (1913) – Arnold Schoenberg
The Banshee (1923) – Henry Cowell
The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs (1942) – John Cage
Musica Ricercarta (1953) – György Ligeti
Memories of You (1964) – Cornelius Cardew
Cobra (1984) – John Zorn
He Was She Was (2008) – Jennifer Walshe
Stahl (2008) – Samuel Gfrörer
Six Beageens and other piano miniatures (2010–11) – Peter Moran
Table-ism (2005 arr.2012) – Peter Moran
New Work (2012) – Kian Geiselbrechtinger
The Dublin Miniatures (2012) – Peter Moran

The Dublin Miniatures and La Cat Acoustic are supported by the The Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: