New orchestral work from David Coonan

David Coonan

A new piece by composer David Coonan will be performed by the London Symphony Orchestra on 11 April as part of the LSO Discovery Panufnik Young Composers Scheme. The piece, Sarcasms: No.1 ‘Romance’, is the first of a collection of large orchestral pieces currently being composed.

The LSO Discovery Panufnik Young Composers Scheme is an exciting initiative offering six emerging composers each year the opportunity to write for a world-class symphony orchestra.

It has been devised by the orchestra in association with Lady Panufnik in memory of her late husband, the composer Sir Andrzej Panufnik, and is generously supported by the Helen Hamlyn Trust.

Under the guidance of renowned composer Colin Matthews, the scheme enables composers to experiment over time and develop their orchestral writing skills; they form collaborative musical relationships with LSO players as well as witnessing their specially composed pieces put under the microscope by the LSO and François-Xavier Roth in a public workshop rehearsal.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: