The RTÉ Vanbrugh Autumn tour features works by Donnacha Dennehy and Christopher Norby

Christopher Norby

The tour visits Ballina, Cork, Dublin and Waterford and features a mixed programme of new and old works including the premiere of a new work from Derry-based composer Christopher Norby.

Norby’s Three Movements for String Quartet was commissioned by RTÉ in 2012 for the RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet. The composer write about the piece:

’This piece came at the end of a lot of collaborative works in theatre and videogames which involved an approach to composing which didn’t allow for ‘pure’ music: everything had to serve a dramatic purpose in the context of each collaboration. Therefore, on this piece, I didn’t consider much else rather than musical sound and wanted to give space to some musical ideas I had.

Also included in the programme for Ballina, Cork and Dublin is Donnacha Dennehy’s 2008 work Stamp (to avoid erotic thoughts), described by the composer as ‘a strange cross between the ringing visceral open-stringed resonances and energy of an Irish session’.

Wednesday 16 October 2013
Ballina Arts Centre, Barrett St, Ballina, Co. Mayo
Tickets: €16/12
Booking 096 73593

Thursday 17 October 2013, 8:00pm
Aula Maxima, UCC, Cork
Tickets €16/14/12 available at the door

Friday 18 October, 8:00pm
Freemason’s Hall, Molesworth Street, Dublin 2
Tickets €16/12
Booking 0818 205 205, and at the door

Thursday 14 November, 8:00pm
The Large Room, City Hall, Waterford
Tickets €18/5

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: