A three-day festival of new Irish music takes place in Durham University from 29 November to 1 December 2013

Ceol_Nua-72dpiPresented as part of Durham University’s concert series Musicon, Ceol Nua is a three-day event showcasing Irish composers. The festival features established composers such as Kevin Volans, Gerald Barry, Deirdre Gribbin and Donnacha Dennehy, alongside those of the up-and-coming generation including Andrew Hamilton, Dave Flynn, Garrett Sholdice and Eric Egan.

The three concerts take place on consecutive evenings in the historic surroundings of Durham University’s Music School’s Concert Hall and feature renowned performers Norika Kawai (piano), the Smith Quartet, and the Amsterdam-based Ives Ensemble.

Further information is available from www.durham.ac.uk.musicon.concerts or email joyce.dent@durham.ac.uk, telephone 0191 334 3140.

Ceol Nua 1
Friday 29th November 2013, 7:30pm
The Smith Quartet
Dave Flynn – String Quartet No. 2: “The Cranning”
Deirdre Gribbin – Hearing your Genes Evolve
Donnacha Dennehy – Stamp (to avoid erotic thoughts)
Gerald Barry – First Sorrow
Kevin Volans -String Quartet No. 10 (revised version, first performance)

Ceol Nua 2
Saturday 30th November 2013, 7:30pm
Noriko Kawai – piano
Eric Skytterholm Egan – …in the Pause and not…
Donnacha Dennehy – Reservoir
Garrett Sholdice – After Thomas Tallis
Gerald Barry – Swinging Tripes and Trillibubkins; Things gain; Triorchic Blues; Au Milieu; Le Vieux Sourd (revised version, first performance)

Ceol Nua 3
Sunday 1st December 2013, 7:30pm
Ives Ensemble
Gerald Barry – Low; Piano Quartet No.1; Quintet
Donnacha Dennehy – Bulb
Andrew Hamilton – Frank O’Hara on the phone piece
Eric Egan – new work

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: