The Cork New Music Ensemble perform a concert of new works on 16 January

The Cork New Music Ensemble is a collective of some of Cork’s finest musicians. Set up by Alex Petcu in 2011, their main focus has been to collaborate with locally-based composers. They have premiered over 25 new pieces so far alongside a number of works taken from contemporary repertoire of the last 50 years. Recent performances have included Thierry de Mey’s Musique de Table and David Lang’s Cheating, Lying, Stealing among others.

This concert takes place at the Cork School of Music at 8pm on 16 January and will feature compositions for solo instruments and small chamber groups by Sam Barker, Neil Quigley, Darragh Kearnes-Hayes, Richard Rudkins and David O’Regan.

Other works performed include a collaboration with Eat My Noise productions on a new work for solo percussion and electronics, as well as works by Paul Lansky and Osvaldo Golijov.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: