New Music Dublin String Quartet workshop

Hans Abrahamsen

Hans Abrahamsen

Six Irish composers will take part in a workshop facilitated by CMC with Hans Abrahamsen and the RTÉ ConTempo Quartet during this year’s New Music Dublin festival.

Composers Breffni O’Byrne, David Collier, Patrick Connolly, Seán Doherty, Deirdre McKay, Norah Walsh were selected following a call for expressions of interest.

Hans Abrahamsen, who’s fourth string quartet and major chamber work Schee will be performed as part of the festival, will work individually and in a group with the selected composers and will lead the RTÉ ConTempo Quartet in a public workshop reading of each of the works on Saturday, 8 March from 9.00am–1.30pm. The workshop takes place at the National Concert Hall, Dublin.

“I am excited to have been selected to participate in the workshops with Hans Abrahamsen and the ConTempo String Quartet,” says Seán Doherty. “It will allow me the opportunity to share and discuss my in-progress string quartet with a noted composer in the genre.”

“I am looking forward to blending some traditional ideas with extended techniques and hearing a professional rendition of the result!”, Norah Walshe.

New Music Dublin is a partnership initiative of The Arts Council/An Chomhairle Ealaíon, The National Concert Hall (NCH), RTÉ Orchestras and the Contemporary Music Centre (CMC). The festival takes place in the NCH on March 6 – 9 2014.

Further information on the festival is available from

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: