Concorde’s ‘Up Close with Music’ series continues on 30 March at the RHA Gallery

Jane O’Leary

The next concert in the popular series, which presents new Irish music in an international context, features Galway Ensemble in Residence: ConTempo Quartet who join Concorde in a collaboration between the two ensembles.

Featured in both programmes is the premiere of a new work for string quartet, alto flute and clarinet by Concorde’s artistic director, Jane O’Leary, the echo of all that’s happened. Alyson Barber’s sextet, Illusions, which was first performed in February in Galway as part of the Galway Music Residency programme, receives its first Dublin performance. Also on the programme is Deirdre McKay’s trio, buttons, breath, bow, a commission from Concorde and first performed in 2013.

International works include a quintet for strings, clarinet and accordion from prize-winning British composer Raymond Yiu, Finnish composer Riikka Talvitie’s Suven sävel (sounds of summer) for flute and accordion, and from Sweden- Daniel Nelson’s rhythmic and energetic quintet for accordion and strings: My Inner Disco.

The concert takes place in the Ryan Gallery at the RHA Gallery, Dublin where an exhibition of recent acquisitions from the Academy collection is on display.

Up Close with Music is supported by a Project Award from The Arts Council


Sunday, 30 March, RHA Gallery, Dublin

Deirdre McKay: buttons, breath, bow (2013) (accordion, clarinet, violin)
Jane O’Leary: The echo of all that’s happened (string quartet, alto flute, clarinet), commissioned by Concorde, first performance
Raymond Yiu (Hong Kong/England): Les Etoiles au Front (2012) (clarinet/bass clarinet, accordion and string trio) Irish premiere

Alyson Barber: Illusions (2014) (string quartet, wooden flute, bass clarinet)
Riikka Talvitie (Finland): Suven sävel / the sound of summer (2003) (flute, accordion)
Jane O’Leary: The echo of all that’s happened (2014) (string quartet, alto flute, clarinet)
Daniel Nelson (USA/Sweden): My Inner Disco (2001) (accordion & string quartet)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: