Crash Ensemble and the ConTempo Quartet perform at Galway Courthouse


ConTempo Quartet

Presented by Music for Galway as part of the EU project, New Music: New Audiences, the concert will see The Galway Music Residency: ConTempo Quartet and Crash Ensemble join forces to perform a unique programme of new music at Court Room No. 1 in Galway on 4 April at 8.00pm.

New Music: New Audiences is dedicated to supporting contemporary music and composers’ and musicians’ experiments with performance contexts and audience engagement through international involvement. Since 2012, the project has involved 31 music ensembles and 16 music organisations working together to bring new music to a wider audience. The Contemporary Music Centre is the lead Irish partner, with ConTempo Quartet and Crash Ensemble being the Irish partner ensembles.

The programme, which is drawn from a repertoire list compiled as part of New Music: New Audiences initiative, will include music for an eclectic instrumentation from Finland, Norway, Latvia, Britain and Ireland.

Following the concert, a panel discussion hosted by CMC Director Evonne Ferguson involving some of the composers and performers will take place.

Tickets €2/€16, €6 (students) are available from Music for Galway, tel 091 705962, Opus 2, High Street or

Irish involvement in New Music: New Audiences is Supported by Culture Ireland.

Simon Holt: Brief candles (Crash Ensemble)
Santa Ratniece: Alveoles (ConTempo Quartet)
Sam Perkin: Prelude and Fugue for Violin and Marimba (Crash Ensemble and ConTempo Quartet)
Øyvind Torvund: Neon Forest Space (Crash Ensemble)
Max Savikangas: Maito (ConTempo Quartet)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: