Japanese pianist Satoko Inoue performs music by John McLachlan and Paul Hayes in Donegal and Dublin

Satoko Inoue

A leading interpreter of contemporary piano music, Satoko Inoue has premiered works by some of Japan’s foremost composers including Jo Kondo, Yoriaki Matsudaira, Yoritsune Matsudaira and Toshi Ichiyanagi and is known for recitals of works by contemporary composers such as John Cage, Morton Feldman, Henry Cowell, Luciano Berio, Giacinto Scelsi and Luc Ferrari amongst others.

She visits Ireland with the financial support of the Japan Foundation and will give three concerts in Donegal, Dublin and Roscommon with performances of new music by Irish and Japanese composers in Donegal and Dublin.

The programme includes the Irish premiere of John McLachlan’s Nine, a work originally premiered by Satoko Inoue in Tokyo in 2012. Also on the programme is the premiere of a new work, Lost in Carnaween, by Tokyo-based Irish composer Paul Hayes, as well as works by Japanese composers Hirokazu Hira-ishi, Sesshu Kai, Toshiya Watanabe, Yori-aki Matsudaira, Yuji Itoh and Jo Kondo.

The concerts take place on 23 July at the Letterkenny Regional Cultural Centre, Donegal at 8pm as part of the Earagail Arts Festival, and on 25 July at 7.30pm at the Kevin Barry Room, National Concert Hall, Dublin. The performance in Dublin will be preceded by a brief introduction to contemporary Japanese music by Yuji Itoh and Satoko Inoue.

Tickets for the Donegal concert are available from www.eaf.ie/booking-info (€15/12), and from the National Concert Hall for the Dublin concert (€15/10).

Following these performances, Satoko Inoue will also perform a recital at the Boyle Arts Festival, King House, Roscommon on 26 July at 11am featuring works by Bach, Debussy, Takemitsu and Janáček.

Further information on Satoko Inoue:

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: