Saxophonist Gavin Brennan presents a programme of Irish composers’ music on 30 January

The concert, entitled ‘Modern Irish Music’, takes place at the Royal Irish Academy of Music on 30 January at 7pm and features the RTÉ ConTempo Quartet and the Brennan-Cahill Saxophone-Piano Duo performing a programme of works by composers Kevin O’Connell, Nick Roth, Jane O’Leary, Deirdre McKay, Matthew Whiteside and Eric Sweeney.

Gavin Brennan recently completed a Bachelor of Music Performance degree at DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama, where he obtained 1st Class Honours and was awarded the Michael McNamara Gold Medal for Excellence in Performance. He is currently studying for a Masters of Music Performance at the Royal Irish Academy of Music with Paul Roe and Fintan Sutton. He was selected by Concorde as the ‘Up Close Performer 2013’, performing with cellist Adrian Mantu as part of the group’s ‘Up Close’ series.

Gavin Brennan and Aileen Cahill came together as a saxophone and piano duo in 2013, and in 2014 the duo worked with ConTempo String Quartet and the Galway Music Residency as part of their newly created ‘Rising Stars’ programme. They have been awarded the Apprentice Ensemble residency with ConTempo for 2014-2015.


Nick Roth: Quintet (2010) saxophones and string quartet
Jane O’Leary: Mystic Play of Shadows (1995) string quartet
Kevin O’Connell: Saxophone Sonata (1987)
Deirdre McKay: Between (2006) baritone saxophone and cello
Matthew Whiteside: Laya (2010) soprano saxophone, piano, viola, cello
Eric Sweeney: Three Pieces (1999) violin, cello, piano / saxophone, viola, piano

Admission is free

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: