Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble announced as Crescent Arts Centre Ensemble in Residence

hard rain logoThe Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble has been announced as the new Ensemble-in-Residence at The Crescent Arts Centre in Belfast, with a launch event taking place this week featuring a concert of Franco Donatoni as well as Irish composers.

The Ensemble is composed of players known for both their solo and chamber performances of contemporary music: Ryan Molloy (piano), Cliodhna Ryan (violin), David McCann (cello), Sarah Watts (clarinets), Simon Mawhinney (piano); and Aisling Agnew (flute).The ensemble’s Artistic Director and founder is the Belfast composer Greg Caffrey, also a guitarist and composer. Their repertoire and programmes heavily feature Irish contemporary composers, but are often based around the work of one international composer, such as Toru Takemitsu, or in the case of their upcoming launch concert Franco Donatoni.

This will be the first time the Crescent Arts Centre will have its own ensemble-in-residence, though it does also offer artist studios and offices for a number of arts organisations.


Hard Rain Soloist Ensemble: Donatoni Portrait

28 February, 7.30pm

Ian WilsonEat, Sleep, Empire (‘Unterwelt part 1’) (2002)
Franco Donatoni – Soft (1989)
Piers HellawellMinnesang (2011)
Franco Donatoni – Het (1990)
Greg CaffreyTre Correnti (2013)
Franco Donatoni – Fili (1981)
Franco Donato – Etwas ruhiger im Ausdruck (1967)

Tickets cost £12/£10 and are available from www.crescentarts.org

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: