CMC Library Update for May and June 2015


This update from the library features some of the works added to its collection during a two month period. In May and June, works from 16 different composers were added to the CMC online library catalogue. Selected works include:

David Coonan (1987-) Sarcasms
Commissioned by RTÉ for the RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. No.1 ‘Romance’ was written for the London Symphony Orchestra, as part of the LSO Discovery Panufnik Composers Scheme.
Premiered by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra, conductor Gavin Maloney on 20 January 2015 at Horizons Series, National Concert Hall, Dublin.
No.1 ‘Romance’ was premiered by London Symphony Orchestra, conductor François-Xavier Roth on 11 April 2013, LSO St. Luke’s Centre, London, England.
This piece is dedicated to Martin Adams – for his constant guidance and friendship, for which I’ll always be immensely grateful.

Christy Doran (1949-) Mesmerized
To be premiered by Christy Doran’s NEW BAG on 6 November 2015 at Göttingen Jazzfestival, Germany.
Listen to this work on the composer’s Soundcloud page here

Eric Skytterholm Egan (1983-) Tubulent Priest
Premiered by BBS SSO Brass Quintet on 21 April 2015 at Sage Gateshead, England.
Listen to this work on the composer’s website here

Victor Lazzarini (1969-) Five Preludes for Four Hands
Premiered by Duo Sargasso on 30 June 2010 at The Warehouse, London.
Listen to this work on the composer’s Soundcloud page here
For the Duo Sargasso.

Ben McHugh (1989-) The Forest is All and Nothing
Premiered by Claire Duff (vn [baroque]) on 24 March 2015 at ICC The Strung Series, Irish Georgian Society, Dublin.
Listen to this work on the composer’s Soundcloud page here
The idea for this piece came from walking in the same forest in four different seasons, noticing the cycle of birth, growth, fall and decay on the forest floor and in its trees.

Karen Power (1977-) Inside the Arctic Ice
Premiered on 29 May 2015 at Noyes museum of Art, Stockton University, New Jersey, USA.
Listen to an extract from this work on the composers’ website here
Part of the exhibition Frozen Earth: Images from the Arctic Circle at Noyes Museum of Art, running from 29th May 2015 to 10th January 2016.

Donal Sarsfield (1980-) Blackout
Premiered on 22 April 2015 at Sonorities Festival, Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Listen to this work on the composer’s Soundcloud page here
Composed for the ballet We/Part, with choreography by Paolo Mangiola.

Andrew Synnott (1970-) Plus One
Premiered by Finghin Collins (pf-solo), Mary Curran (hn), Ken Edge (cl), Sile Daly (ob) and Andrew Synnott (pf) on 29 October 2014 at Áras Inis Gluaire, Belmullet, Co. Mayo.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: