CMC’s Salon this month features Cassiopeia Winds

Cassiopeia_Wind_QuintetThe 2015 Salon series continues on 29 October with a programme which includes a new work by John Buckley specially written for the group.

Formed in 2010, Cassiopeia Winds is a wind quintet whose performances are marked by vivacity, panache and a dedication to the exploration of fine sound-worlds. The players are Catriona Ryan (flute), Matthew Manning (oboe), Deirdre O’Leary (clarinet), John Hearne (bassoon) and Cormac O hAodáin (French Horn).

Taking place at the Royal Irish Academy of Music, Westland Row, Dublin 2 at 7pm, this free event includes John Buckley’s recent Wind Quintet No. 2, alongside his first wind quintet, written in 1976 and revised in 1985. Also on the programme is Joan Trimble’s Three Diversions (1990).

John Buckley on his new quintet:

“Since composing my first wind quintet forty years ago, I have always had the ambition to create a second work for this fascinating combination of instruments. 

The number of Wind Quintets by Irish composers is relatively small (the Contemporary Music Centre lists only eleven). With the presence of the vibrant ensemble Cassiopeia Winds in the musical landscape, this fascinating and underdeveloped compositional genre can develop and flourish through performances and commissions.”

The performance of the quintet takes place ahead of a national tour by Cassiopeia Winds during November.

The CMC Salon series involves a panel of independent curators and the 2015 season is curated by Irish composer Siobhán Cleary. The series aims to encourage newcomers and enthusiasts alike to engage with the music of Irish composers. Each performance takes place in an informal atmosphere with dialogue encouraged between composers, performers and audience.

The Centre would like to thank the RIAM for the use of their venue for the Salon series.

Admission is free for the Salon series but booking is strongly recommended. To book, please visit

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: