Concorde’s Up Close with Music series returns on 11 October


Concorde with ConTempo Quartet

Contemporary music ensemble Concorde present three new works by Irish composers in the Sunday at Noon series at the Hugh Lane Gallery on 11 October.

The programme features new works commissioned by Concorde from Linda Buckley, Jane O’Leary and Ed Bennett. The pieces were premiered as part of the Up Close with Music series earlier in the year, and will be performed alongside works by Finnish composer Osmo Tapio Raihala and Jonathan Harvey.

Linda Buckley’s evocative piece takes its title from the poetry of John Haines, evoking a sense of stillness, describing ‘silences so deep/you can hear/the journeys of the soul.’ Ed Bennett’s work for bass clarinet and string quartet, written for Paul Roe and ConTempo Quartet, is a study in slowed-down motion, building slowly with controlled tension. Jane O’Leary’s new duo explores the light and shade of winter skies in a series of colourful images, reflecting impressions from the time of year in which they were written.

The group will also be joined by the RTÉ ConTempo Quartet, Galway Ensemble in Residence, and Paul Kiernan on trumpet, Concorde’s student composer from DIT Conservatory of Music & Drama, where Concorde are currently Ensemble in Residence.


Jonathan Harvey (1939-2012) (UK): Fanfare (2012) – clarinet & trumpet
Linda Buckley (Ireland): downward in a freezing earth (2015) – bass clarinet, violin, cello, electronics
Osmo Tapio Raihala (Finland): Zénith (2011) – a vocalise for trumpet with flute, clarinet, violin, cello
Jane O’Leary (USA/Ireland): A Winter Sketchbook (2015) – four duos for alto flute & violin
Ed Bennett (Ireland/UK): Static Tones and Sliding Drones (2015)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: