The DIT hosts a series of concerts on the music of Ireland from 10-12 November

Gráinne Mulvey

In celebration of the 125th anniversary of DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama, the Afterlight Chamber Music and Lecture Series will focus on the Music of Ireland, 1890-2015.

Performed by staff and graduates of the Conservatory, the lunchtime concerts feature music by a range of Irish composers composing during the period, and includes works by Raymond Deane, Gerard Barry, Jane O’Leary, David Fennessy, Patrick Egan, Benjamin Dwyer and Grainne Mulvey, as well as those by historical figures John F. Larchet, Ina Boyle and Frederick May, among others. 

The concerts take place at the John Field Room, NCH, Dublin and each concert is curated and introduced in a pre-concert talk at 12.30pm by lecturers from DIT Conservatory of Music and Drama: Maria McHale, Mark Fitzgerald and Clíona Doris.

Tuesday 10th November 2015, 1.05pm
12.30pm Pre-Concert Talk: Dr Maria McHale
Charles Villiers Stanford –  Selections from ‘Irish Airs’
John F. Larchet – Selections from ‘Irish Airs’
Odhrán O Casaide (violin), Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)

Charles Villiers Stanford – The Fairy Lough
Hamilton Harty – Sea Wrack
Ina Boyle –  Sleep Song (Déirín Dé)
Frederick May – An Irish Love Song
David Scott (baritone), Una Hunt (piano)

Frederick May – Idyll
David O’Doherty (violin), Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)

Arnold Bax – Elegiac Trio (1916)
Julie Maisel (Flute), David O’Doherty (viola), Clíona Doris (harp)

Concert 2: Wednesday 11th November 2015
12.30pm Pre-Concert Talk: Dr Mark Fitzgerald
Frederick May – The Traveller (1940); Communion (c1940); Brinscombe  (c1940)
David Howes (baritone), Una Hunt (piano)

Frederick May – Hesperus (c1929); North Labrador (1940)
Colette McGahon-Tosh (mezzo-soprano), Una Hunt (piano)

Gerard Victory – Cinque Correlazioni (1966)
Catherina Lemoni-O’Doherty (piano)

Raymond Deane – Apreslude (1979)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Julie Maisel (flute/piccolo), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet/bass clarinet), Clíona Doris (harp), David O’Doherty (viola), Arun Rao (cello), Noel Eccles (percussion)

Gerald Barry ____________ (1979)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán, Shane Kenrick (clarinets), David O’Doherty (viola), Arun Rao (cello), Noel Eccles (marimba), Danusia Oslizlok (piano)

Concert 3: Thursday 12th November 2015
12.30pm Pre-Concert Talk: Dr Clíona Doris

Jane O’Leary –   Duo for Alto Flute and Guitar (1995)
Ciaran O’Connell (alto flute,) John Feeley (guitar)

David Fennessy – Continuity Error (2002, rev.2003)
Ciaran O’Connell (flute,) John Feeley (guitar)

Patrick Egan – Where There Were Wolves (2015)
Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet) and electronics

Benjamin Dwyer – Pasillos from ‘Voces Criticas’ (2004)
Pavlos Kanellakis (guitar)

Grainne Mulvey – interstices (2011)
Keith Pascoe (conductor), Ciaran O’Connell (Flute), Pablo Manjón-Cabezas Guzmán (clarinet), Ian Dakin (French horn), Gillian Williams (violin), Arun Rao (cello), Edward Holly (piano)

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: