Soundings concert features new work by Sean Clancy

A new work by Sean Clancy was recently featured in two concerts in the Soundings project in London. Soundings was founded in 2004 by the Austrian Cultural Forum in London with the aim of presenting the work of UK and Austrian composers, as well as fostering collaborations and creating opportunities for new commissions.

This year Soundings took place over four days, and featured the work of six composers: Seán Clancy, Christian Mason and Kate Whitley from the UK, and Mirela Ivičević, Hannes Kerschbaumer, and Daniel Moser from Austria. The concerts were curated by Mary Dullea, and featured as performers Dullea (pf), Ralf Ehlers (va), Rebecca Hardwick (sop), Darragh Morgan (vn, cond), Christopher Redgate (ob), Rowland Sutherland (fl), Max Welford (cl), as well as performers from the Royal College of Music. Piers Hellawell will introduce the concert as well as presentations on each composers’ work.

The new work by Seán Clancy was written for Darragh Morgan especially for the Soundings project, and is titled Five to Forty Seconds, and it explores people’s experience in an art gallery.

‘Generally speaking, people spend between five and forty seconds observing each piece of art in a gallery space. Sometimes they make connections from piece to piece, sometimes they do not. Sometimes they can share this experience with another person, sometimes they cannot.’
The Soundings programme also featured Clancy’s Five Minutes of Music on the Subject of Noszferatu and Three Minutes of Music.
For more information on Soundings, see 

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: