CMC Library Update for November and December 2015


This update from the library features some of the works added to its collection during a two month period. In November and December, works from 26 different composers were added to the CMC online library catalogue. Selected works include:

John Buckley (1951-) Wind Quintet No. 2
Commissioned by Cassiopeia Winds with funding provided by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.
Premiered by Cassiopeia Winds on 7 November 2015 at Birr Theatre and Arts Centre, Birr, Co. Offaly.
Watch a video of the CMC Salon featuring the work here

Greg Caffrey (1963-) In Search of a Human Dialogue
Premiered by Hard Rain SoloistEnsemble with director Greg Caffrey on 26 November 2014 at the CMC Salon, Kevin Barry Room, National Concert Hall, Dublin.
“The intention in writing this piece was to create a piece of chamber music in the truest sense; it is a piece that relies on all the players listening carefully to one another and a piece that requires a large degree of interaction within the group.”

Sean Clancy (1984-) Four Pieces of Music Lasting Thirty Seconds Each
Premiered by Xenia Pestova (pf [toy]) on 26 March 2015 at the Recital Hall, Birmingham Conservatoire, Birmingham, England.
Dedicated to the memory of Bob Gilmore.
Listen to this work on the composer’s SoundCloud page here

Benjamin Dwyer (1965-) Nocturnal, after Benjamin Britten
Premiered by Fidelio Trio on 11 October 2015 at London Chamber Music Society Concert, King’s Place, London, England.
“My new work for the Fidelio Trio entitled Nocturnal, after Benjamin Britten is, of course, inspired by Britten’s work for solo guitar – his famous Nocturnal, after John Dowland, Op. 70.”

Eric Skytterholm Egan (1983-) Falling
Premiered by Hugo Queiros (bcl) on 21 February 2015 at Impuls, Graz, Austria.
Listen to an extract from this work on the composer’s website here

Andrew Hamilton (1977-) Ros Tapestry Suite X: Hunt in the Forest of Ros
Commissioned by New Ross Piano Festival with funding provided by the Arts Council of Ireland / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.
Premiered by Alexei Grynyuk (pf) on 27 September 2015 at the New Ross Piano Festival, St. Mary’s Church, New Ross, Co. Wexford.
For more information about the Ros Tapestry project, visit

Marian Ingoldsby (1965-) Never Give All the Heart
Commissioned by Music Network with funding provided by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon.
Premiered by Benjamin Appl (Bar-solo) and Gary Matthewman (pf) on 15 November 2015 at Abbeystrewry Church, Skibbereen, Co. Cork.
The composer also gave a CMC Composers’ Voice talk at the premiere.

Ryan Molloy (1985-) Irish Suite
Premiered by Zoe Conway (fiddle) on 19 May 2015 at ICC The Strung Series, The Teacher’s Club, Dublin.
Listen to this work on the Irish Composers’ Collective SoundCloud page here

Ailís Ní Ríain Dubinina’s Tongue
RIAM Percussion Ensemble and Jim Royle Drum Studio US on 15 April 2015 at MusicTown: Drumming – 3 Day Percussion Extravaganza, Royal Irish Academy of Music, Dublin.
“The piece is dedicated to the memory of Ludmila Dubinina who died at Dyatlov Pass, in 1959 aged 21. The Dyatlov Pass incident was an event that resulted in the death of nine skiers north of the Ural mountains, Russia.”

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *


%d bloggers like this: